Project Gutenberg Australia
a treasure-trove of literature
treasure found hidden with no evidence of ownership


Home Our FREE ebooks Search Site Site Map Contact Us Reading, Downloading and Converting files

D H Lawrence (1885 - 1930)

A Bibliography
[with direct access to most of the titles]

Short Stories
Non Fiction


  • The White Peacock (1911)--Read now
  • The Trespasser (1912) Read now at Freeread
  • Sons and Lovers (1913) Read now at Freeread
  • The Rainbow (1915) Read now
  • The Lost Girl (1920)--Read now
  • Women in Love (1920) Read now at Freeread
  • Aaron's Rod (1922) Read now at Freeread
  • Kangaroo (1923) Read now
  • The Boy in the Bush [with M. L. Skinner (died 1955)] (1924)
  • The Plumed Serpent (1926) Read now
  • Lady Chatterley's Lover (1928) Read now


  • Love Among the Haystacks (1930) (see Collected Short Stories--below)
  • The Ladybird (1923) Read now
  • The Fox (1923) Read now
  • The Captain's Doll (1923) Read now
  • St Mawr (1925) Read now
  • The Virgin and the Gypsy (1930) Read now
  • The Man who Died (also published as The Escaped Cock) (1929) Read now

Short Stories

  • The Prussian Officer and Other Stories (1914) Read now
    The Prussian Officer (also known as honour and Arms)
    The Thorn In The Flesh (also known as Vin Ordinaire)
    Daughters Of The Vicar
    A Fragment Of Stained Glass
    The Shades Of Spring (also published as The Soiled Rose)
    Second Best
    The Shadow In The Rose Garden
    Goose Fair
    The White Stocking
    A Sick Collier
    The Christening
    Odour Of Chrysanthemums
  • England, My England and Other Stories (1922) Read now at Freeread
    England, My England
    Tickets, Please
    The Blind Man
    Monkey Nuts
    Wintry Peacock
    You Touched Me
    Samson And Delilah
    The Primrose Path
    The Horse Dealer'S Daughter
    Fanny And Annie
  • The Woman Who Rode Away and Other Stories (1928) Read now
    The Woman Who Rode Away
    Two Blue Birds
    The Border-Line
    Jimmy and the Desperate Woman
    The Last Laugh
    In Love
    The Man Who Loved Islands
    Glad Ghosts
    None of That!
    The Rocking-Horse Winner
    The Lovely Lady
  • Collected Short Stories (A Project Gutenberg of Australia compliation) Read now
    A Modern Lover (1933)
    Her Turn (1913) (also known as Strike Pay and Turnabout is Fair)
    Love Among The Haystacks (1930)
    Mother And Daughter (1929)
    New Eve And Old Adam (1934)
    Rawdon'S Roof (1928)
    Strike-pay (1913) (also known as Ephraim's Half Sovereign)
    The Blue Moccasins (1928)
    The Mortal Coil (1917)
    The Old Adam (1934)
    The Overtone (1933)
    The Princess (1925)
    The Witch A La Mode (1934)
    Things (1928)
  • Other Short Stories
    The Miner at Home
    Delilah and Mr Bircumshaw
    A Lesson on a Tortoise
    Lessford's Rabbits
    A Prelude (1907)
    A Fly in the Ointment (1913)
    Once--! (1930)
    A Hay Hut Among the Mountains (1930)
    A Chapel among the Mountains (1930)
    Christs in the Tyrol (1930)
    Mr Noon (1934)


  • The Daughter-in-law (1912) Read now
  • The Widowing of Mrs Holroyd (1914) Read now
  • Touch and Go (1920) Read now
  • David (1926) Read now
  • The Fight for Barbara (1933) Read now
  • A Collier's Friday Night (1934) Read now
  • The Married Man (1940) Read now
  • The Merry-go-round (1941) Read now
  • Altitude--a fragment (1924)
  • Noah's Flood - a fragment


  • Love Poems and others (1913)
  • Amores (1916) - Read now at Freeread
  • Look! We have come through! (1917) - Read now at Freeread
  • New Poems (1918) - Read now at Freeread
  • Bay: a book of poems (1919) - Read now at Freeread
  • Tortoises (1921)- Read now at Freeread
  • Birds, Beasts and Flowers (1923) Read now
  • The Collected Poems of D H Lawrence (1928)
  • Pansies (1929)
  • Nettles (1930)
  • Last Poems (1932)
  • Fire and other poems (1940)

Non Fiction

  • Study of Thomas Hardy and other essays (1914)
  • Movements in European History (1921)
  • Psychoanalysis and the Unconscious (1921)
  • Fantasia of the Unconscious (1921) - Read now at Freeread
  • Studies in Classic American Literature (1923)
  • Reflections on the Death of a Porcupine and other essays (1925)
  • A Propos of Lady Chatterley's Lover (1929)
  • Apocalypse and the writings on Revelation (1931)
  • Phoenix: the posthumous papers of D H Lawrence (1936)
  • Phoenix II: uncollected, unpublished and other prose works by D H Lawrence (1968)


  • Twilight in Italy and Other Essays (1916) - Read now at Freeread
  • Sea and Sardinia (1921) - Read now
  • Mornings in Mexico (1927) - Read now
  • Etruscan Places (1932) - Read now

Updated 16 April 2011